Libertarian National Convention Chooses Presidential Debaters

LAS VEGAS – Delegates of the National Libertarian Convention here Friday chose two participants of a presidential debate that will precede elections of the Libertarian Party’s Presidential and Vice Presidential nominees.

The debate, a key event in the nominating process, will begin at 6:00 P.M. Friday, May 4th at the Red Rock Resort in Las Vegas, Nev. and will broadcast live on C-Span It will be moderated by David Bergland, a former party National Chair and the 1984 presidential nominee.

According to the results of a secret vote, taking part in tonight’s debate will be:

Gary Johnson, a former two-term governor for New Mexico, whose frequent use of the veto pen has earned him the nickname of “Governor Veto.” He cut taxes 14 times while never raising them. See also

R. Lee Wrights, a long-time Libertarian Party activist, writer and publisher. Mr. Wrights has dedicated his life and career to promoting the ideas of small government and individual freedom. [Read more…]

Share This:

Libertarian Party of Georgia 2012 Convention – Presidential Debate and Straw Poll Results

Many thanks to those who attended the 2012 state convention in Athens, Georgia. This year, we hosted a Presidential Debate with five candidates (in alphabetical order):

  • Governor Gary Johnson
  • Carl Person
  • Leroy Saunders
  • Bill Still
  • R. Lee Wrights

Thanks to Brian Brawdy for providing the equipment and Livestream channel to make this debate possible.

Watch live streaming video from brianbrawdy at

[Read more…]

Share This: